All-candidates forum for Electoral Area E by-election

An all-candidates forum in advance of the Regional District of East Kootenay’s Area E by-election will be held at the Wasa Hall on Wednesday, March 30.

The by-election to replace Area E Director Norm Walter, who passed away suddenly last December, has attracted an exceptional number of candidates.

Wilma Croisdale of Wasa, Sharon Mielnichuk of Fort Steele, Jane Walter of St. Mary Valley and Jim Westwood of Fort Steele are competing for the vacant seat on the Regional District of East Kootenay board.

The unusually large field has prompted Area E residents to organize a forum where voters can meet and question the hopefuls.

The forum will open at 7 pm with short presentations from each of the candidates, followed by written questions from the audience.

Moderator for the evening is Dean Buchignani of Ta Ta Creek.

Area E includes Premier Lake/Sheep Creek, Wasa Lake, Lazy Lake, Ta Ta Creek, Woods Corner, Meadowbrook, St. Mary Valley and a small portion of Wycliffe.

The by-election will be held April 16, with advance voting offered on April 6 and 14.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

You might like ...

Olympic podium made from Ktunaxa wood returns home
BCTF touts deal in email to members
The 2014 Jaffray Fall Fair promises good food and plenty of fun
New Zealand leader wants flag vote held next year
Nelsonites aim to disrupt climate change
Despite extension, Pacific NorthWest LNG eyes year-end final investment decision
Prince Rupert School District signs lease agreement with Port Edward council
Terrace public school students back in the classroom Monday
Storm surprises drivers

Community Events, September 2014

Add an Event

Read the latest eEdition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Apr 3 edition online now. Browse the archives.