Cities co-host Mayor’s Caucus


The diverse and pressing challenges faced by local governments in 2014 are shared issues that require careful contemplation and collective solutions. To facilitate this dialogue, the cities of Cranbrook and Kimberley are co-hosting the 5th BC Mayors’ Caucus on April 23-25, where mayors from throughout the province will come together to serve as a united voice, confronting issues affecting BC communities. The Caucus has been held twice a year since its inception in 2012, each time in a different city to showcase the unique areas of the province.

“The City of Cranbrook is very excited to be co-hosting the spring 2014 BC Mayors’ Caucus with our neighbours in Kimberley,” says Cranbrook Mayor, Wayne Stetski. “This collaboration mirrors the Caucus’ goal of pursuing joint economic development between cities in our province, and we are proud to help further encourage that dialogue.”

Cranbrook is the largest city in the East Kootenay region, with a population of almost 20,000. Functioning as the area’s business hub, Cranbrook’s economy thrives on its role as the regional service centre; its contributions to the forestry, agricultural, and other resource-based sectors; and its attraction to visitors and tourists.

Just up the road from Cranbrook is the City of Kimberley – a former mining community that has transitioned into a tourist destination and resort town. Kimberley is the fastest growing city in the East Kootenay region with a population increase of 8.4% from 2006-2011, the result of an increasing number of lifestyle-driven mobile workers who recognize Kimberley as a good place to be.

“The Mayors’ Caucus is a very important event in the progression of our province, and Kimberley is proud to be co-hosting this fifth session,” says Kimberley Mayor, Ron McRae. “By discussing common issues facing municipalities in British Columbia, we will be able to explore possible solutions and forge action plans that will strengthen our province in its entirety.”

The BC Mayors’ Caucus is structured after successful models across North America and Europe including the Alberta Mayors’ Caucus, the Big Cities Mayors’ Caucus (Canada), Atlantic Mayors’ Congress (Canada), Metropolitan Mayors’ Caucus (United States) and the Summit of Mayors (EU).

BC Mayors’ Caucus Steering Committee:

•Mayor Wayne Stetski of Cranbrook

•Mayor Lori Ackerman of Fort St. John

• Mayor Peter Milobar of Kamloops

•Mayor Greg Moore of Port Coquitlam

•Mayor Shari Green of Prince George

•Mayor Jack Mussallem of Prince Rupert

•Mayor John MacDonald of Sayward

•Mayor Taylor Bachrach of Smithers

•Mayor Dianne Watts of Surrey

•Mayor Dean Fortin of Victoria.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Community Events, March 2017

Add an Event