Local curlers crowned at Masters Championship

Team Will took the gold medal at the 2014 BC Masters Curling Championships. (Pictured) Ralph Will, Gerald Kent, Peter Sweetman and Glen Jaeb. - Photo submitted
Team Will took the gold medal at the 2014 BC Masters Curling Championships. (Pictured) Ralph Will, Gerald Kent, Peter Sweetman and Glen Jaeb.
— image credit: Photo submitted

Two masters teams were crowned champions of BC at the Creston Curling Club on Sunday.

The Kootenay team of Ralph Will and the Vancouver Island team of Lorraine Jeffries were the top teams at the 2014 BC Masters Curling Championship. The teams will head to Coaldale, Alberta, from March 31 to April 6 for the 2014 Canadian Masters Curling Championships.

This is the second BC masters title in a row for Jeffries, who played third for the 2013 champions, Team Lepine.

The men’s and women’s championships were both close at the top.

After round robin play, four men’s teams were tied in first, with five wins apiece: Team Will, of Sparwood and Cranbrook curling clubs, Team Gelowitz, of Kelowna Curling Club, Team Moore, of Golden Ears Winter Club in Maple Ridge, and Team Watson, of Vancouver Curling Club.

The teams were then seeded based on their results against each other and a page playoff round was held.  Second-placed Team Gelowitz, with a win over first-placed Team Will, got the bye to the final. Meanwhile, the two teams tied for third place, Team Watson and Team Moore, played in a page 3-4 playoff, with Team Moore advancing. Team Will then faced Team Moore in the semi-finals on Sunday morning, winning 4-3.

The Sparwood/Cranbrook team of skip Ralph Will (who calls the shots but throws lead rocks), fourth Gerald Kent, third Peter Sweetman and second Glenn Jaeb, then faced Team Gelowitz again in the final, and were able to reverse the result,  winning 7-2.

On the women’s side, Team McFadden, from the Royal City Curling Club, went through round robin play undefeated, winning a bye to Sunday’s final.

Team Jeffries, from the Alberni Valley Curling Club, finished with a 5-2 record, and Team Gallaway and Team Lepine were tied for third place with 4-3 records.

A tiebreaker win for Team Lepine, skipped by 2013 seniors and masters champion Karen Lepine, moved them on to the semi-finals.

But Team Lepine were unable to get past Team Jeffries, with Lorraine Jeffries at skip, Zorka Smith at third, Eilene Mitton at second and Trudy Beskau at lead in the semi-final. The Port Alberni team scored a deuce in the eighth end to wrap up the game 8-7.

Team Jeffries then went on to play Team McFadden in the final. They scored a deuce in the second and a three-ender in the sixth on their way to a 7-3 victory.


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Community Events, April 2017

Add an Event